BALDWIN JENKINS HALL
Baldwin-Jenkins, named for Estella E. Baldwin, registrar from 1935-70, and Marion R. Jenkins, dean of women from 1931-63, is predominantly a freshman residence hall. Eighty-nine residents live in Jenkins and 71 live in Baldwin; a common lounge separates the two wings. “BJ” was built in 1968.
Built in 1914, Ballard Hall burned to the ground in 1927 and was rebuilt and reopened in 1928. Named for W. R. Ballard, university trustee from 1892-1912, this hall was originally an all-male dormitory. It is now a residence hall for 66 women and is the sister hall to McMillan (see below).
Constructed in 2001, Boppell Hall houses 84 female, upper-division students (sophomore through senior) in apartment-style suites that include two bedrooms, private bathrooms, and common living areas with kitchenettes and storage spaces. The residence hall is named in honor of former longtime chair of the Whitworth University Board of Trustees Charles “Chuck” Boppell, ’65, and his wife, Karlyn, '67. Chuck is a recent winner of the university's highest prize, The George F. Whitworth Medal.
Dedicated in fall 2006, Duvall houses 160 students representing all four classes. Its unique three- to five-bedroom “pods” house 6-10 students per unit. Each pod includes its own private living room and bathroom. The hall is named in honor of the late R. Fenton Duvall, beloved Whitworth professor emeritus of history, who served the university from 1949-81.
Constructed in 1914 and remodeled in 1987, McMillan Hall is Whitworth's original building, which once housed all classrooms, offices, dormitory rooms, and the dining hall. At one time a female dorm, then a co-ed facility after the fire in which Ballard Hall was destroyed, "Mac" is now an all-male residence hall and the brother hall to Ballard. Named for the Rev. Hugh H. McMillan, Whitworth trustee from 1907-31, the hall houses 83 men.
Oliver Residence Hall, completed in 2009, is a 170-bed facility that houses all four class levels in single, double and triple rooms. The three-story building features unique common spaces, large- and small-group meeting spaces, and study spaces. Oliver Hall is named for Walter Oliver, ’67, former chair of the board of trustees, to honor his rich legacy of support for Whitworth.
Constructed in 1963 and remodeled in 1988, Stewart was named in honor of the Rev. Calvin W. Stewart, Whitworth president from 1890-98. Stewart Hall houses 35 men and 35 women in four-person, suite-style rooms. Like Baldwin-Jenkins, Stewart houses only first-year students.
Constructed in 1952 and 1963 and remodeled in 1989, Warren is named in honor of Frank Warren, Whitworth's longest-serving president (1940-63), and one of its most beloved leaders. The building that bears his name is divided into three wings: East, South and West. Warren Hall is home to more than 200 students.