housing@whitworth.edu

Arend Hall

Constructed in 1957 and remodeled in 1986, Arend Hall (named in honor of Albert Arend, Whitworth trustee from 1925-84) houses 93 women and 70 men on three floors.

Baldwin-Jenkins Hall

Baldwin-Jenkins, named for Estella E. Baldwin, registrar from 1935-70, and Marion R. Jenkins, dean of women from 1931-63, is predominantly a first-year residence hall. Eighty-nine residents live in Jenkins and 71 live in Baldwin; a common lounge bridges the two wings. Baldwin-Jenkins was built in 1968.

Ballard Hall

Built in 1914, Ballard Hall burned to the ground in 1927 and was rebuilt and reopened in 1928. Named for W. R. Ballard, university trustee from 1892-1912, this hall was originally an all-male dormitory. It is now a residence hall for 66 women and is the sister hall to McMillan (see below).

Boppell Hall

Constructed in 2001, Boppell Hall houses 84 upper-division students (sophomore through senior) in apartment-style suites that include two bedrooms, private bathrooms, and common living areas with kitchenettes and storage spaces. The residence hall is named in honor of former longtime chair of the Whitworth University Board of Trustees Charles "Chuck" Boppell '65 and his wife, Karlyn '67. Chuck is a recipient of the university's highest prize, the George F. Whitworth Medal.

Duvall Hall

Dedicated in fall 2006, Duvall houses 160 students representing all four classes. Its unique threeto five-bedroom "pods" house 6-10 students per unit. Each pod includes its own private living room and bathroom. The hall is named in honor of the late R. Fenton Duvall, beloved and highly respected Whitworth professor emeritus of history, who served the university from 1949-81.

McMillan Hall

Constructed in 1914 and remodeled in 1987, McMillan Hall is Whitworth's original building, which once housed all classrooms, offices, dormitory rooms and the dining hall. At one time a female dorm, then a coed facility after the fire in which Ballard Hall was destroyed, "Mac" is now an all-male residence hall and the brother hall to Ballard. Named for the Rev. Hugh H. McMillan, Whitworth trustee from 1907-31, the hall houses 83 men.

Oliver Hall

Oliver Hall, completed in 2009, is a 170-bed facility that houses all four class levels in single, double and triple rooms. The three-story building features unique common spaces, large- and small-group meeting spaces, and study spaces. Oliver Hall was named for Walter Oliver '67, former chair of the board of trustees, to honor his rich legacy of support for Whitworth.

Stewart Hall

Constructed in 1963 and remodeled in 1988, Stewart was named in honor of the Rev. Calvin W. Stewart, Whitworth president from 1890-98. Stewart Hall houses 18 men and 18 women in twoperson, suite-style rooms. Stewart is reserved for upperclassmen only.

The Village

The Village, constructed in 1972, comprises three 20-student residence halls – Akili, Shalom and Tiki – that offer students a homelike experience. Single rooms wrap around a common, centrally located bathroom. Each building features a generous first-floor lounge and kitchen.

Warren Hall

Constructed in 1952 and 1963 and remodeled in 1989, Warren is named in honor of Frank Warren, Whitworth's longest-serving president (1940-63) and one of its most beloved leaders. The building that bears his name is divided into three wings: East, South and West. Warren Hall is home to more than 200 students but is predominantly a first-year residence hall.

Whitworth Neighborhoods

Another opportunity for living on campus is the Whitworth Neighborhoods. This program is designed to give sophomore, junior and senior students a unique living environment close to campus that focuses on civic engagement through creating neighborhood communities of four or five houses. The Whitworth Neighborhoods Program currently includes more than 20 houses.